Skerrit announces major cabinet reshuffle names former opposition MP as minister

Skerrit announces major cabinet reshuffle names former opposition MP as minister

By TDN Wire Staff

April 10, 2018 11:32 P.M

Prime minister Roosevelt Skerrit in the center with Joseph Isaac on the right and Isaac advisor Edgar Hunter on the left
Roseau, Dominica (TDN) - Dominica’s prime minister Roosevelt Skerrit has announced a major shakeup in his Cabinet while increasing the number of ministers from 18 to 19 the largest such Cabinet of Ministers in the Eastern Caribbean.

In announcing his decision, Skerrit named Joseph Isaac the member of parliament from Roseau Central who just parted ways with the opposition United Workers Party, as minister for the Environment, Climate Resilience, Disaster Management and Urban Renewal; a newly created position. In that role Isaac is expected to oversee the functioning of the recently announced Climate Resilience and Environmental Advisory Department (CREAD).

Skerrit also took on the housing and lands portfolio while naming for the first time a Deputy prime minister in the person of Reginald Austrie who had held that ministerial position for the last 18 years.

Another new ministerial position was that of a minister for Ecclesiastical Affairs, Family and Gender Affairs, which went to Catherine Daniel. Other noteworthy changes were that of former minister of Communications and Works Senator Miriam Blanchard who is now minister of economic planning and Johnson Drigo former Agriculture minister who was shifted to a junior minister position.

The full cabinet is as follows:

Hon. Roosevelt Skerrit – Prime Minister and Minister for Finance, Investments, Housing and Lands
Hon. Reginald Austrie – Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Agriculture Food and Fisheries
Hon. Levi A. Peter - Attorney General
Hon. Dr. John Colin McIntyre – Minister for Public Works, Water Resource Management and Ports
Hon. Joseph Isaac Minister for the Environment, Climate Resilience, Disaster Management and Urban Renewal
Hon. Dr. Kenneth Darroux – Minister for Health and Social Services
Hon. Senator Miriam Blanchard – Minister for Planning, and Economic Development
Hon. Senator Robert Tonge – Minister for Tourism and Culture
Hon. Catherine Lady Daniel – Minister for Ecclesiastical Affairs, Family and Gender Affairs
Hon. Justina Charles – Minister for Youth, Sports, and Constituency Empowerment
Hon. Rayburn Blackmoore – Minister for Justice, Immigration and National Security
Hon. Senator Francine Baron – Minister for Foreign and CARICOM Affairs
Hon. Ian Douglas – Minister for Trade, Energy and Employment
Hon. Petter Saint. Jean – Minister for Education and Human Resource Development
Hon. Roslyn Paul – Minister for Commerce, Enterprise and Small Business Development
Hon. Kelver Darroux – Minister for Information, Science, Telecommunications and Technology
Hon. Cassius Darroux – Minister for Kalinago Affairs
Hon. Johnson Drigo – Minister in the Ministry of Housing and Lands

Hon. Ivor Stephenson – Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Health and Social Services

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

  | Home | Welcome Message | Prior Issues | Feedback | Current Issue | Contact Us | Advertise | About Dominica | Privacy Policy |

  Copyright 2002-17 TheDominican.Net. Designed by -- All Rights reserved